Re: bullshit justice activism

iamalizardwomanfromthedawnoftime said:

What’s gross about being reassuring and accepting and welcoming to someone when others aren’t? I thought that was a wonderful answer you gave.

I have no idea.

(This was in response to epistemotypus saying “Wow this is seriously gross, and you’re a little shit and I wish I could just flush you down the drain b/c obviously whoever shat you out wasn’t polite enough to do us that courtesy” as a response to my attempt to help an asexual anon who was getting despondent over exclusion from both LGBT and heteronormative spaces.)

I was unable to figure out what could *possibly* be in any way “gross” about how I handled my response, and if epistemotypus had criticized my commentary instead of saying I am feces that should be flushed, maybe I would have a better idea of what might have been wrong with it. But I must say the fact that it was tagged “bullshit justice activism” gives me a bit of insight: It’s pretty common for asexual people to be subjected to regular hostility for DARING to claim we have problems, and we are often shamed and attacked by people who think our attempts to discuss our experience and ally with groups having similar experiences are ACTUALLY just about trying to co-opt the queer experience.

Calling something I said “bullshit justice activism” suggests that epistemotypus is probably somewhere in that camp–the camp of people who believe our issues are nonexistent because how the hell can we be bullied over our sexuality? Especially when it’s not real and is bullshit? Especially when nobody ever tells us we’re pieces of shit for talking about our issues and claims we deserve to be thrown down the toilet? We don’t get shit on at all! Here’s some good old-fashioned bully language to make sure you STOP claiming anyone cares enough about your sorry ass to bully you!

I think I’ll just assume epistemotypus enjoys calling people’s issues “bullshit” based on some arbitrary belief about what issues are “real”–that or it was some kind of misunderstanding arising from not reading properly. I just figured I’d comment on it since it was such a good example of exactly the kind of bullcrap we get all the time just for talking about our experiences, and to indicate that yes, I saw it.

~swankivy, happily not being flushed down the toilet after being shat out